Clemson Paralympics Logo

Clemson University: Tutor, Talk and Train

Announcing a new program!


We are excited to announce an upcoming opportunity for FREE adaptive fitness and adaptive yoga classes for individuals with paralysis for Fall and Winter 2021. Family members and/or caretakers are always welcome to join the sessions. REGISTER BELOW!

What is being offered?
Adaptive fitness & adaptive yoga sessions on Mondays and Wednesdays through December 31 for individuals with paralysis.

**All of the sessions will take place on "Zoom." Participants will need to have access to the Zoom portal. You will be emailed the link for each session post registration.**

What you will experience?
All adaptive fitness & adaptive yoga sessions will provide participants with opportunities to enhance their physical wellness while also making connections with other program participants. Caregivers and family members are always welcome to join the sessions. All sessions will include a wide range of modifications in order to best serve your needs. If you need or want something different than what you have experienced in a session, please let your instructors know -- this program is all about YOU and we want it to be a great experience!

Adaptive fitness sessions
Mondays: 2:15PM-3:15PM ET (1:15PM-2:15PM CT / 12:15PM-1:15PM MT / 11:15AM-12:15PM PT)
The adaptive fitness sessions will focus on a combination of strength and cardio exercises. You may want to use light weights for the sessions, but it is not necessary to purchase any equipment as household items can be used for weights or resistance (milk jugs filled with water, backpacks with books, towels, etc.).

Adaptive yoga sessions
Wednesdays: 3PM-4PM ET (2PM-3PM CT / 1PM-2PM MT / 12PM-1PM PT)
The adaptive yoga sessions are intended to help foster harmony between your mind and body helping you increase flexibility and strength while reducing stress, illness and injury. No need to purchase any equipment.

What will participants gain from the program?
1. Physical and mental benefits resulting from exercise
2. Connection and camaraderie with other program participants
3. Receive a free t-shirt after participating in 1 one-hour session
4. Receive a free dinner for a virtual dinner event after participating in 6 one-hour sessions. This event will include a guest speaker and an opportunity to further connect with other program participants

How much does it cost?
This program is FREE to you as it is fully funded by the Christopher & Dana Reeve Foundation; we are grateful for their support in being able to bring you this opportunity.

Additional Notes
We also offer an opportunity for individuals with paralysis to become certified as tutors and do virtual tutoring with elementary, middle and high school students. If you have an interest in this or would like to learn more, please contact us!


Clemson Paralympic Soccer Vision Statement:
Clemson Paralympic Soccer seeks to improve the quality of life for various populations of people with disabilities through our Residential Training Program; VA Adaptive Soccer Camps; Tutor, Talk and Train Program; Additional Adaptive Sport Opportunities; Therapeutic Recreation; and continuing research and education.